* * * * * *

The Plains States Anti-Defamation League congratulates the artists who were chosen as our semi-finalists!

The submission period for artists to apply to participate in the inaugural TypecastRecast exhibit has ended.  TypecastRecast will be a recurring project.  Subscribe to our emails at the bottom of the page to follow the our progress and to be notified when the Call for Artists opens next year!

The TypecastRecast Jury:

Jury - CampbellKarin Campbell

Phil Willson Curator of Contemporary Art

Joslyn Art Museum

Karin Campbell received her BA in art history and political science from the College of the Holy Cross, Worcester, MA in 2006 and her MA in curatorial studies from the Center for Curatorial Studies, Bard College, Annandale-on-Hudson, NY in 2011.  From 2006 to 2009, she served as curatorial assistant in the contemporary art department at Carnegie Museum of Art in Pittsburgh, PA, where she helped organize Life on Mars, the 55th Carnegie International.  Before starting at Joslyn, Campbell worked independently, curating The End is Where We Start From, the 2011-2012 installment of Espai 13 at the Fundació Joan Miró in Barcelona.  She was the first American curator responsible for this annual exhibition series.


Jury - JurovicsToby Jurovics

Chief Curator and Holland Curator of American Western Art

Joslyn Art Museum

Prior to joining the Joslyn, Jurovics was a curator of photography at the Smithsonian American Art Museum and the Princeton University Art Museum. This past spring, he organized the first major retrospective on Timothy H. O’Sullivan in three decades, Framing the West: The Survey Photographs of Timothy H. O’Sullivan and has organized numerous exhibitions by contemporary artists, including Robert Adams, Lewis Baltz, Barbara Bosworth, John Gossage, Emmet Gowin, and Edward Ranney. He has lectured widely on American landscape photography, and is the author of essays on Thomas Joshua Cooper, John Gossage, Emmet Gowin and the New Topographics. A dedicated champion of mid-career and emerging artists, he has endeavored to create exhibitions and programs that reach both popular and academic audiences while engaging vital contemporary issues. Jurovics holds a B.A. in art history and English from the University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill and an M.A. in art history from the University of Delaware.


Jury - McGrawHesse McGraw

Chief Curator

The Bemis Center for Contemporary Arts

Hesse McGraw is Chief Curator of exhibitions and projects and oversees The Bemis Center’s three main gallery spaces and the UNDERGROUND. Under McGraw’s leadership, The Bemis Center’s exhibition program functions as a laboratory for artists and focuses on site-specific, immersive, cross-disciplinary and socially engaged projects. He has recently developed projects with Michael Jones McKean, Theaster Gates, and Leslie Shows.

Prior to joining the Bemis Center in 2008, he was associate director at Max Protetch in New York City. From 2002 through 2005 he served as the founding director and curator of Paragraph, a Charlotte Street Foundation initiative in Kansas City, Missouri, where he also served as senior editor of Review. McGraw holds a BFA from the University of Kansas and completed graduate research at the European Graduate School in Saas-Fee, Switzerland. He lectures widely and is a frequent visiting curator and critic for art and architecture programs throughout the United States. His writing is regularly published internationally in exhibition catalogues and arts and culture publications.

Current recognition includes an Andy Warhol Foundation Curatorial Research Fellowship, an inaugural Robert Rauschenberg Foundation Artistic Innovation and Collaboration Grant, an NEA Our Town grant, and a Harpo Foundation Grant. He was a 2011 fellow of the NAMAC Visual Arts Leadership Institute. He serves on the boards of Nebraskans for the Arts, the Council Bluffs Public Art Commission, Whoop Dee Doo, and design alliance OMAHA.


Jury - McQueen ShewBrigitte McQueen Shew

Executive Director

Union for Contemporary Art

Originally from Detroit, Brigitte McQueen Shew earned her degree in Journalism from St. John’s University in New York City. She has worked in advertising, as a pastry chef and spent 10 years in publishing as a Production Manager with Teen People magazine. After adopting Omaha as her home in 2006, she opened a commercial gallery, called PULP. As its Curator, she showcased the work of local and international contemporary artists. Following her desire to better support Omaha’s arts community through non-profit work, Brigitte became the Manager of the Underground at The Bemis Center for Contemporary Arts in 2010. While there, she helped to develop exhibitions and programs that extended the organizations mission to support exceptional talent to the arts community of Omaha. In January 2011, she left The Bemis to further pursue her commitment to cultivating the arts in the community and founded The Union for Contemporary Art.


Jury - PotashAlan Potash

Regional Director

ADL – Plains States Region

ADL Regional Director Alan Potash has experience as a visual artist and arts educator. With a BA in Communication and Fine Arts from Southern Illinois University in Cinema and Photography and an MA in Curriculum and Instruction with a focus on Art Education, Potash was an active artist in the schools for the Nebraska Arts Council and an adjunct instructor for the University of Nebraska at Omaha prior to his first role with ADL, which was heading up the Austin, Texas ADL Office. His progression from art to social justice work has led him to find opportunities to incorporate his passion for community dialogues through art.



Connect with the project and the organizations involved online. Be sure to use #TypecastRecast when talking about the project!






Follow ADL on Facebook

Follow ADL on Twitter

Follow ADL National on Pinterest

Follow the Bemis Center on Facebook

Follow the Bemis Center on Twitter

If you have questions about this project, want to get involved, or are interested in making a donation, contact us!

Congratulations to the following artists who have been selected as finalists! 

Jarrod Beck
Andrew Conzett & Ryan Fischer
Charley Friedman
Katherine Mann
Avery Mazor
Paige Reitz
May Tveit

Read more about each of these artists and what they want to create on The Art page.